Did you get your drone license?

Just wondering if you, @jonobacon, ever did get a drone? If so, are you going to get it licensed?

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/drone-registry-faa-transportation_56252b3ce4b08589ef4842f6

Is this a good thing?

I don’t see how this is actually going to solve the problems that bad drone pilots create. Not every drone has a GPS module or tracking device to determine when it’s going into restricted airspace. If this becomes a requirement, it could kill off the hobbyist drone fanbase really quickly.

I went out with a pal of mine to do some drone flying this weekend. We found ourselves an unoccupied sportsball field at a local high school, and flew his custom built FPV drone and my little Hubsan until rain chased us out. I’m just getting into the hobby, and have been building up a shopping list for a FPV build of my own. These types of regulations would likely make his drone illegal - it would be too easy to detach any identifying marks that the “license” for his quad requires, and it would be impossible to enforce any type of GPS tracking device since the craft itself is basically a silicon and carbon fiber sandwich set up for easy modification. I’d hate to see this hobby get legislated out of existence because of a few reckless folks endangering others.

I fully support shooting these devices out of the sky if they encroach on restricted airspace - its not a good move if you endanger a plane full of people to fly a remote controlled aircraft. A common sense test for pilots before purchase might be more effective than licensing, though.

1 Like