Aq mentioned Macs - Working with Apple in enterprise

In episode 2x 13 - Built with Alien Technology, there was a discussion about working with Macs in offices, especially offices that aren’t tech companies. If anyone is interested, I use a Mac at work in a very Windows first environment. I’m a systems librarian for a public library and it’s my job to take care of a thing called the Integrated Library System or ILS. An ILS is a complex software system that powers the day to day operations of a library. So stuff like checking things in and out, managing the library’s catalogue, managing library users, fines, library staff accounts, and the whole bit. Our ILS is so focused on Windows you’d think it was built by Microsoft. It uses the whole Windows Server stack with ASP.Net, SQL Server, IIS, Active Directory, Exchange, and so on.

And I do most of my work from a Mac.

I’m a Linux nerd, but like Jono, I like Macs for the hardware and the design. They’re lightweight, well integrated in software/hardware, and they fit my needs better than any other PC. I’m one of only two or three people in the office who use a Mac, and of them, I’m the only one using it almost full time. (I use a library issued Surface Pro as well… sometimes at the same time as when I’m using a MacBook Air.)