1x04: Fat Drone Backups

• Open Source Health: are the open source community more unhealthy than most? Perhaps the trend for health-related gadgets will save us
  • Review: Stuart talks about Ender’s Game, the film, the book, and the author
  • Chris Anderson, CEO of 3dRobotics, ex-editor of Wired, and author, talks about his current venture, creating pilotless autonomous “drones” and what they might mean for Amazon Prime Air, agriculture, and society at large
  • How do the team actually back up their stuff? Surprisingly, we all actually do (as should you), but how do we do it?
  • Your feedback: video podcasting, Bitcoin, new phone OSes, and pod love

Listen to the show at http://www.badvoltage.org/2013/12/05/1x04/ and give us your thoughts here!

3 Likes

Great episode. I am a middle-aged tech guy who needed some way to start getting back into shape. After having watched Dr. Evans’ video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aUaInS6HIGo&feature) I bought a Fitbit Flex and now walk about 8K everyday. The tracking is a huge motivator as I now have empirical evidence of any pathetic slacking off I might be tempted to engage in.

1 Like

Nice! So… what motivated “getting back into shape”? Just a nebulous feeling that it’s what everyone says you have to do, or something more specific?

On the health thing. I think one of the biggest problems for everybody is that Mental Health is still a taboo. I don’t know how bad it is in the US, but in the UK, it’s still a bad idea to be open with an employer about having a mental health issue, even if you’re managing it well and and it has beneficial implications for your work.

Unless we’re all more honest and open about what mental issues we have, and how fragile humans actually are, then we won’t make any progress towards having better working environments.

2 Likes

That’s a really good point, actually, about honesty, especially honesty to employers. I don’t know how that might ever get resolved, though.