I can't seem to stick with Linux!

Hi everyone,

This is a bit of an odd thing to post on a Linux forum but has anyone had problems “sticking” with Linux?

Here’s a little history. I work as a .net developer and up until about a year ago I would’ve considered myself a “windows guy”. But I’ve been getting a little fed up of the direction Windows is going and I’ve been “dabbling” with Linux for quite a few years (I think I started out by trying Red Hat 7 and Ubuntu 6.10). By dabbling I mean dual booting and I’ve pretty much permanently had a Linux VM around for playing. Anyway I thought I would give Linux a real go this time.

Now the problem I have is that I can’t seem to stick with Linux, I keep wanting to go back to something familiar…

Has anyone dealt with anything else like this? What should I do!

Like I said I know it’s a little strange asking this on a Linux forum as most people here are here because of their interest in Linux, but I just wondered if anyone else experienced anything like this when first changing to Linux. Is it just the “fear” of the unfamiliar?

M

I think the only reason I use windows these days is because even though I have support for games on linux steam now… I still have a load of games that don’t. If it weren’t for my investment in steam, I’d be linux all the way.

I know what you mean though I think there is something very homely about windows. I wouldn’t say I’m anti windows either. Basically I think there’s room for all of this stuff in your life. Maybe you just need to stop beating yourself up about it? :slight_smile: Whatever blows your hair back man. If windows do something good, use that and if its shit, let them know by not paying them for something shit and go for a quality linux distro instead. I don’t think that excludes you from linux, or open source communities does it? Surely a major force behind open source is the tendency toward free thinking?

I’m just throwing ideas in the air sorry, probably not that helpful :smiley: