Favourite editors / IDEs

The inevitable “what’s your favourite editor and why” topic. I think all tech related forums have them!

I’ve been through a lot of them and, obviously, there is a time and a place for each. However, I seem to have bonded mostly to Emacs, especially in non window mode. I’ve gotten used to all the keyboard shortcuts and vast sea of extensions have been of great use. Not to turn this in a Vi vs Emacs as I also really do like vi as well. I’ve also dabbled with Sublime.

IDE wise, that’s quite easy. In day-to-day work, I’m a Python developer, so I use PyCharm because it is really a good product. For the most part “it just works” and has some really clever features build in, like deployment. I used to use Eclipse with PyDev, but after a year-and-a-bit of playing, could never get it stable (especially with the eGit plugin).

I have not tried emacs yet but seem to like vim. I like being able to press r and just replace a character or delte whole lines a few words and other things. also like easy to know how to undo changes.

vim.

And you cannot like emacs as well as vim. It is The Law.

1 Like

For me, I have done the vast majority of my Python programming in Geany. Before then it was GEdit. Highly recommended. :slight_smile:

More importantly, it is OK to not give a shit about either too. :wink:

3 Likes

Having the emacs vs vi argument is like arguing about petrol vs diesel. You’re fiddling while Rome burns. Some years from now, that choice will be totally irrelevant and basically incomprehensible to modern developers.

I was a Sublime person; I’m currently trying gedit; I may try Atom when they finallly give a shit about Ubuntu, but them taking so long is itself deincentivising.