Math(s) To Play With

I work as a computer programmer, well a web developer, PHP FTW. TBH it is mostly a problem domain of lifting data out of a database and making it look nice then pushing it down to a web browser.

I’m keen to broaden my skillset and generally I like to play with things.

So recently I have started looking back at basic Mathematics, long division on paper etc and East Asian algorithms for multiplication.

I’m curious are there any areas of Maths that you guys find particularly interesting and enjoyable to do?

(Lets assume that Boolean algebra and number base’s are given).

Maths is a very interesting subject and is one of the key areas to study. There are several sites catering for mathematical interests, Khan Academy for example.

There are several sites exploring recreational maths, Note being British I recognise this is is a contraction of ‘Mathematics’ and so always plural and never singular.

I’d suggest a structured approach: you will learn more.

Starter question:
In your house you have a 2’ box touching the wall the floor pushed in as tight as it can be. leant against that is 30’ ladder - just touching the floor, the wall and the box. If we assume he height s as big as possible how far do we reach up the wall?

I’m happy to continue this discussion in private (via PM) because I suspect many here are not interested but happy to help you explore your ideas

Tip for my question above if you think about angles this can be reduced to a quadratic equation so solved using the classic equation Otherwise we are looking at a quartic so estimating via Newtons method or similar.

Seriously? A fuckin’ quartic? And you drop this on people at nine at night? That sort of thing ought to be bloody prohibited by the Geneva Convention.