Academic journals

Quick point on the state of scientific research and “pay walls”. I am a physics researcher, I’ve published many papers and written a book. It really annoys me how the journals work and how the system is just stacked against both the content creator and content consumer.

When you said “I could access the paper if I googled the title” what you are most likely accessing is a pre-print (arxiv?). Whilst this is good and useful, they cannot really be relied upon, they are the pre-edited, pre-pear reviewed versions.

When I publish research I,

Have to pay to publish
Have to pay extra to publish in color (wtf)
Give up my rights to use the images in other presentations or publications
Give up my ownership of and rights to the material
Earn no revenue from sales
Give the right for Ads to be placed inside my paper
Earn no revenue from Ads

Luckily in the UK its now law that any research supported with government money (99% of physics) has to be published open access. Which is nice but needs to propagate around the world much faster, this also only address one of the above points, although it may be argued to be the most important. Sci-hub.cc is brilliant.

2 Likes

Really? That’s great! Is there a reference for that somewhere? I didn’t know this.

Also there is a very strong push to make researchers also publish their actual data, open access in an open and readable format. i.e. if you look at a recent publication (Demonstration of sub-luminal propagation of single-cycle terahertz pulses for particle acceleration | Nature Communications)
and scroll to the bottom you can often find a little paragraph that reads
"Data availability
The data associated with the paper are openly available from the Mendeley Data Repository at: http://dx.doi.org/10.17632/5gd9vymhfb.1 "

This is pushed forward by academic grades (a university or researches rank 4 star etc etc) ONLY taking into account research that is published in an open access format.

2 Likes